Dr. Lenn Ditmanson Humanitarian Award

Nomination Form

BACKGROUND: The Dr. Lenn Ditmanson Humanitarian Award was established to honor the life and legacy of Dr. Lenn Ditmanson and to recognize the work of others, who like Dr. Ditmanson, are inspired to recognize the needs of underserved people, work collaboratively to improve and build interventions, and serve the community. Dr. Ditmanson was a tireless advocate and care provider for those impacted by addiction and assisted with the journey through addiction to recovery. Dr. Ditmanson worked across disciplines to meet the needs of the Tucson community and build connections for improved outcomes and care of individuals. This annual award was established to honor service to the community related to addiction medicine, valuing and respecting the dignity of every individual, and mentorship to continue the important service in this area.

CRITERIA for consideration are individuals (or as funding is available, teams) chosen based on one or more of the following:

- 1. Consistently demonstrates a high standard of dedication to the Tucson community and vulnerable populations
- 2. Exemplifies service respecting the dignity of every individual
- 3. Provides regular mentorship to upcoming professionals in the area of or related to fields impacting addiction medicine
- 4. Works collaboratively across disciplines to lift the needs and voices of the underserved
- 5. Helps improve systems within the hospital and medical community to better serve and meet the needs of individuals struggling with addiction
- 6. Continually seeks to raise own standards of practice
- 7. Open to all disciplines recommended or through self-nomination

PROCESS for selection is the gathering of recommendations through May 15th of each year. The collective will meet the first week of June to review recommendations and make a selection. The recipient of the award will be notified by phone call and the award will be presented by the collective.

SELECTION is decided by the Addiction Medicine Collective, a group of dedicated colleagues who worked with Dr. Ditmanson to positively impact the greater Tucson community and future generations of Tucsonans through their service. As members of this group choose to leave, they will choose new members by group consensus.

Currently serving on the selection collective are: Gina Connelly, Audrey Davis, Lori Groenewold, Harvey Maksvytis, Joyce Morgan, Susan Thompson and Wanda Winningham.



WISH TO MAKE A DONATION TO CONTINUE THE LEGACY OF DR. DITMANSON? Go to https://www.tmcaz.com/ditmanson or use this QR code.

Nominee:	
Area of Practice:	
Based on the above criteria, please explain why this individual should receive Award (attach extra pages if necessary).	the Ditmanson Humanitarian
Nominator's name:	
Signed:	 Date:
Phone# and email:	

The Addiction Medicine Collective, a dedicated group of TMC staff and community physicians, seeks nominations for the Dr. Lenn Ditmanson Humanitarian Award.

NOMINATIONS DUE: 5/15/24

EMAIL APPLICATIONS to Susan.Thompson@tmcaz.com